Sex and the City 2

I could not bring myself to go and see “Sex and the City 2.” Granted I did like the first five seasons of the six season HBO series, “Sex and the City,” from which the movie evolved. However the thought of going to see this continuation in a movie theatre was something I could not endure for fear of being the only man in attendance. So I did the next best thing and sent my “senior spies.” The spies are my mother, Ruth Shire, 85, a retired children’s librarian, originally from Massachusetts, and an older Stuyvesant Town neighbor, Alice (not her real name). Both are very hip, “with it” ladies who had very different opinions about the movie.

Mom: “I thought ‘Sex and the City 2’ was the most ridiculous movie I have ever seen. It was so over the top and exaggerated. It opens with a scene at a wedding where the main character is a friend of one of the people getting married. Each of the people are male and they are getting married. And it is a typical Hollywood production number with a chorus of men dressed all in white. And the whole thing was so over the top. The women get a chance to go to Abu Dhabi and all 4 of the friends go.”

Alice: “I liked it much more than I thought I would. I just thought it was so far out in many ways. Well the clothes. I have to start with the clothes because I love fashion and the clothes were outrageous…That was my favorite thing.”

Mom: “Their clothes, while very elaborate, were disappointing as far as the style goes. Once the characters arrived in Abu Dhabi they were mostly dressed in things that resemble harem type clothing.”

Alice: “My second favorite thing was that it was filmed in Morocco, it was supposed to be Abu Dhabi, so you have these lavish hotels and incredible furnishings and swimming pool and the whole bit…and then out in the desert, that was a brief scene, on the camels.”

Regarding the characters

Alice: “The one who usually takes most of the scenes is Carrie, Sarah Jessica Parker, but I love the scenes best when Samantha (Kim Cattrall) was in them. She’s funny, she’s sexy, she’s outrageous. That appealed to me. I’m an older woman and it still appeals to me this kind of stuff. Some of it’s a little far out. There was some explicit sex scenes which I wasn’t expecting in the movie. They didn’t last too long, but they were in there.”

Mom: “There were times when I thought the movie was making fun of itself…I hope young girls who see this movie don’t mistake its fantasy for real life…The women were sort of stupid.”

Alice: “Well, they’re superficial. But they have a friendship and that was the theme all the way through the series and the first movie. I saw the first movie. I liked that too. I think I liked the second one better.”

Mom: “I saw it with a friend who told me that if she had not been with me she would have walked out…It was almost an insult to the audience…I don’t know what the producers had in mind. They must have liked it or they wouldn’t have released it. I would say ‘two thumbs down’ on this movie.”

“Sex and the City 2,” director Michael Patrick King, 2010,
New Line Cinema, 146 minutes, Rated R

About unpaidfilmcritic

Up until 2009 Seth Shire spent nearly two decades in the New York film industry as a post production supervisor of feature films. Highlights include working on the films of Martin Scorsese, James Toback and Spike Lee. Since leaving the film industry Seth has expanded into new and varied areas where he has found a great deal of satisfaction. Seth currently teaches in the Sociology Department of CUNY Queens College. His courses include "Mass Media and Popular Culture," "Introduction to Sociology," and "Sociology of Cinema" where he is a very popular teacher. Seth is also the film critic for "Town & Village," a Manhattan weekly newspaper, a position he has held for the past six years. Seth gives back to his community through volunteer teaching at Manhattan's "The Caring Community," a center for senior citizens, where he teaches a very popular course on documentaries called "The Golden Age of the Documentary. In the fall of 2010 Seth taught "Critical Reading and Writing" at Parsons School of Design. He has also taught "Cinema Studies" at the New York Film Academy. Seth lives in Stuyvesant Town, in Manhattan.

Posted on June 12, 2010, in New. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

